EandP-19/3/2018-O/o Dy. Dir(E and P)

Government of India

Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region

Vigyan Bhawan Annexe

Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi-110011

Date: 20th February, 2018

Subject: Constitution of 'NITI Forum for North-East'.

With the approval of Competent Authority, it has been decided to set up a 'NITI Forum for North-East' with the following composition and ToR.

- 2. The composition of the Forum is as follows:
 - i. Chairman: Vice-Chairman, NITI Aayog
 - Co-Chairman: Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region

Members:

- i. CEO, NITI Aayog
- ii. Secretary, M/o DoNER
- iii. Secretary, M/o Road Transport & Highways
- iv. Secretary, M/o Railways
- v. Secretary, M/o Power
- vi. Secretary, M/o Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
- vii. Secretary, M/o New & Renewable Energy
- viii. Secretary, M/o Health & Family Welfare
- ix. Secretary, M/o Human Resources Development
- x. Secretary, M/o Environment, Forest & Climate Change
- xi. Joint Secretary (NE), MHA
- xii. Chief Secretary, Government of Assam
- xiii. Chief Secretary, Government of Sikkim
- xiv. Chief Secretary, Government of Nagaland
- xv. Chief Secretary, Government of Meghalaya
- xvi. Chief Secretary, Government of Manipur
- xvii. Chief Secretary, Government of Tripura
- xviii. Chief Secretary, Government of Arunachal Pradesh
- xix. Chief Secretary, Government of Mizoram

- xx. Ms. Jayati Chandra, IAS (Retired)
- xxi. Shri Jarnail Singh, IAS (Retired)
- xxii. Shri M.P. Bezbaruah (IAS-Retd.)
- xxiii. Prof. GautamMukhopadhaya, Indian Foreign Service (Retired)
- xxiv. Ms. RekhaPai, Indian Forest Service (Retired)
- xxv. Prof. Manoj Pant, Director, IIFT.
- xxvi. Shri Pradeep Phanajaboum, Editor (Imphal Free Press)
- xxvii. Prof. MilindoChakraborty, Research & Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), New Delhi
- xxviii. Professor Mrinal Miri, Ex-Vice Chancellor, NEHU
- xxix. Shri SanjoyHazarika, Director, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiatives (CHRI), New Delhi
- xxx. Director, Rain Forest Research Institute (RERI), Jorhat, Assam
- xxxi. Director, North Eastern Regional Institute of Science & Technology (NERIST), Arunachal Pradesh
- xxxii. Director, IIT Guwahati
- xxxiii. Director, Rajiv Gandhi IIM, Shillong
- xxxiv. Secretary, North East Council (NEC), Shillong Member Secretary
 - 3. The terms of reference (ToR) of the Forum would be as under:
 - i. To identify various constraints on the way for accelerated, inclusive but sustainable economic growth in the North East Region of the country and to recommend suitable interventions for addressing identified constraints.
 - ii. To review the development status in NER
 - iii. Any other issue as deemed relevant.
 - 4. The Chairman/Co-Chairman of the Forum may co-opt any other official/ nonofficial representative of any organization as a member (s), if required.
 - 5. The Forum may examine and address any other issues which are of importance but not specifically spelt out in the ToR. The Forum may devise its own procedure to conduct its business/ meetings/ field visits/ constitution of Sub- Groups etc.
 - 6. The Expenditure of the members on TA/DA in connection with the meeting of the Expert Group will be borne by the parent Department/ Ministry/ Organization/ State Government for official members. For non-official members, M/o DoNER will bear the TA/DA as admissible to Class -I officers of the Government of India. The non- official members

have to book their air ticket by Air India (restricted to economy class) only either on Air India website directly or through authorized Government travel agencies i.e. M/s Balmer & Lawrie or M/s Ashok Travels and Tour or IRCTC. The air travel by private airlines is not permissible and TA/DA claim will not be reimbursed.

7. The Secretariat for the Forum will be in the Ministry of DoNER.

(Prerna Joshi)

Deputy Director

Tel.No: 23794862 Email id: prerna.joshi@nic.in

To

- 1. CEO, NITI Aayog.
- 2. Secretary, M/o Road Transport & Highways
- 3. Secretary, M/o Railways
- ✓4. Secretary, M/o Power
 - 5. Secretary, M/o Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
 - 6. Secretary, M/o New & Renewable Energy
 - 7. Secretary, M/o Health & Family Welfare
 - 8. Secretary, M/o Human Resources Development
 - 9. Secretary, M/o Environment, Forest & Climate Change
 - 10. Joint Secretary (NE), MHA, Department of Home, North Block.
- 11. Chief Secretary, Government of Assam, Block- C, 3rd Floor, Assam Sachivalaya, Dispur-781006, Guwahati.
- ✓12. Chief Secretary, Government of Sikkim, New Secretariat, Gangtok 737101.
- 13. Chief Secretary, Government of Nagaland, Civil Secretariat, Kohima-797004
- ✓14. Chief Secretary, Government of Meghalaya, Main Secretariat Building, Rilang Building, Room No. 321, Meghalaya Secretariat, Shillong-793001
- ∨15. Chief Secretary, Government of Manipur, South Block, Old Secretariat, Imphal-795001.
- √16. Chief Secretary, Government of Tripura, New Civil Secretariat, Capital Complex, Agartala-799006.
- 17. Chief Secretary, Government of Arunachal Pradesh, Civil Secretariat, Itanagar-791111.
- ✓18. Chief Secretary, Government of Mizoram, New Secretariat complex, Aizwal-796001.
 - 19. Ms. Jayati Chandra, IAS (Retired)

- 20. Shri Jarnail Singh, IAS (Retired), B-02, Welcome Group, CGHS Plot No. 6, Sector-3, Dwarka-110078.
- 21. Shri M.P. Bezbaruah, IAS (Retired)
- 22. Prof. Gautam Mukhopadhaya, Indian Foreign Service (Retired)
- 23. Ms. Rekha Pai, Indian Forest Service (Retired), Inspector General of Forests, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Paryavaran Bhawan, C.G.O. Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003.
- 24. Prof. Manoj Pant, Director, IIFT, IIFT Bhawan, B-21, Qutab Institutional Area, New Delhi-110016.
- 25. Shri Pradeep Phanajaboum, Editor (Imphal Free Press), Imphal Free Press, Palace Gate, New Checkon Road PO- Porompat, Imphal East-795001, Manipur.
- 26. Prof. Milindo Chakraborty, Research & Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), Core 4-B, 4th Floor, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003
- 27. Professor Mrinal Miri, Ex-Vice Chancellor, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Shillong.
- 28. Shri Sanjoy Hazarika, Director, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiatives (CHRI), 55A 3rd floor, Siddharth Chambers, Kalu Sarai, New Delhi-110016
- 29. Director, Rain Forest Research Institute (RERI), Indian Council of Forestry Research & Education, Jorhat-785001, Assam
- 30. Director, North Eastern Regional Institute of Science & Technology (NERIST), Nirjuli-791109, Arunachal Pradesh
- 31. Director, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati- 781039, Assam.
- 32. Director, Rajiv Gandhi Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Mayurbhanj Complex, Nongthym, Shillong-793014, East Khasi hills district, Meghalaya.
- 33. Secretary, North East Council (NEC), Shillong.

Copy to:

i. PS to Vice-Chairman, NITI Aayog

ii. PS to MoS (I/C), M/o DoNER

iii. PPS to Secretary, M/o DoNER

(3)